GitBook vs GitLab: what each really costs
Team size
Billing
GitBook
No plan for this billing option
No paid plan to compare for this billing option.
GitLab
No plan for this billing option
No paid plan to compare for this billing option.
| 10 people | GitBook | GitLab |
|---|---|---|
| Entry paid plan | No plan for this billing option | No plan for this billing option |
| Vendor price | ||
| Monthly cost | ||
| Annual cost | ||
| Per user / year | ||
| Billing commitment | Not recorded | Not recorded |
| Minimum seats | None stated | None stated |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
Calculated by SpecEntry from official vendor prices. Taxes and optional add-ons are not included. Open each product page for every plan and the official source.
GitBook vs GitLab pricing questions
- How much do GitBook and GitLab cost?
- GitBook paid plans start at $65 per site per month, billed annually (Essential). GitLab paid plans start at $29/user/month (Premium).
- Is GitBook or GitLab cheaper for 5 users?
- GitBook is cheaper for 5 users: $780 per year on Essential, against $1,740 per year for GitLab on Premium. That is $960 less per year, before tax.
- Is GitBook or GitLab cheaper for 10 users?
- GitBook is cheaper for 10 users: $780 per year on Essential, against $3,480 per year for GitLab on Premium. That is $2,700 less per year, before tax.
- Is GitBook or GitLab cheaper for 25 users?
- GitBook is cheaper for 25 users: $780 per year on Essential, against $8,700 per year for GitLab on Premium. That is $7,920 less per year, before tax.
- Do GitBook and GitLab have a free plan?
- Yes, both list a free plan.