GitBook vs GitHub: what each really costs
Team size
Billing
GitBook
No plan for this billing option
No paid plan to compare for this billing option.
GitHub
No plan for this billing option
No paid plan to compare for this billing option.
| 10 people | GitBook | GitHub |
|---|---|---|
| Entry paid plan | No plan for this billing option | No plan for this billing option |
| Vendor price | ||
| Monthly cost | ||
| Annual cost | ||
| Per user / year | ||
| Billing commitment | Not recorded | Not recorded |
| Minimum seats | None stated | None stated |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Free trial | Not stated | Not stated |
Calculated by SpecEntry from official vendor prices. Taxes and optional add-ons are not included. Open each product page for every plan and the official source.
GitBook vs GitHub pricing questions
How much do GitBook and GitHub cost?
GitBook paid plans start at $65 per site per month, billed annually (Essential). GitHub paid plans start at $4/user/month (Team).
Is GitBook or GitHub cheaper for 5 users?
GitHub is cheaper for 5 users: $240 per year on Team, against $780 per year for GitBook on Essential. That is $540 less per year, before tax.
Is GitBook or GitHub cheaper for 10 users?
GitHub is cheaper for 10 users: $480 per year on Team, against $780 per year for GitBook on Essential. That is $300 less per year, before tax.
Is GitBook or GitHub cheaper for 25 users?
GitBook is cheaper for 25 users: $780 per year on Essential, against $1,200 per year for GitHub on Team. That is $420 less per year, before tax.
Do GitBook and GitHub have a free plan?
Yes, both list a free plan.