SpecEntry.
Cost
vs

GitHub vs GitLab: what each really costs

Team size

Billing

10 peopleGitHubGitLab
Entry paid planNo plan for this billing optionNo plan for this billing option
Vendor price
Monthly cost
Annual cost
Per user / year
Billing commitmentNot recordedNot recorded
Minimum seatsNone statedNone stated
Free planYesYes
Free trialNot statedNot stated

Calculated by SpecEntry from official vendor prices. Taxes and optional add-ons are not included. Open each product page for every plan and the official source.

GitHub vs GitLab pricing questions

How much do GitHub and GitLab cost?
GitHub paid plans start at $4/user/month (Team). GitLab paid plans start at $29/user/month (Premium).
Is GitHub or GitLab cheaper for 5 users?
GitHub is cheaper for 5 users: $240 per year on Team, against $1,740 per year for GitLab on Premium. That is $1,500 less per year, before tax.
Is GitHub or GitLab cheaper for 10 users?
GitHub is cheaper for 10 users: $480 per year on Team, against $3,480 per year for GitLab on Premium. That is $3,000 less per year, before tax.
Is GitHub or GitLab cheaper for 25 users?
GitHub is cheaper for 25 users: $1,200 per year on Team, against $8,700 per year for GitLab on Premium. That is $7,500 less per year, before tax.
Do GitHub and GitLab have a free plan?
Yes, both list a free plan.